Autoimmune Disorder, Allergic Reaction, Help Please!!!

 

urticaria_resized

 

First, this picture is not me. I found it on google images. I WISH i looked this good…

Not good, people. Not good. I was given the drug Plaquenil to  add to my autoimmune disorder arsenal by my doctor a few weeks ago with the goal of weaning me off the prednisone.   I am now covered in a rash from hell over 75 percent of my body. EVERYWHERE  you can think of and don’t WANT to think of.  And the non specific lupus type disorder I have is gleefully helping the reaction to reach its fullest potential.

Long story short, the morning that my slowly developing rash blew into a full blown stage 3-4 allergic reaction, I also fainted and broke my ankle. So I spent the day in the ER, and was admitted. They were more worried about the fainting in case it signified something serious. It didn’t. AFter mega dollars in testing the fainting was attributed to an episode of low blood pressure.

I look like a monster. I feel like a monster. I have red, elephant ears. You can barely see any skin beneath the eruptions. My face is masked with them…Does anyone have any recommendations for excriating itching? I”m taking steroids and antihistamine but topically nothing is offering much relief except ice packs. Oatmeal bath – so so.. Coritsone cream the same…. wahhhhhh!!!!  😦

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Autoimmune Disorder, Allergic Reaction, Help Please!!!”

  1. viv66 Says:

    My GOd that is awful!!!
    You have my prayers and my sympathy.
    In terms of topical relief, I can suggest calamine lotion, if you have it, or any preparation containing chickweed. An infusion of chickweed cooled and then chilled and then applied on a muslin cloth as a poultice helps sore skin of all kinds. Chamomile tea cooled and then applied is also good. Homeopathic potency Sulphur may also help.
    you poor lady!

    Thanks Viv 😦

  2. leakelley Says:

    I am so sorry you are in such misery.
    A baking soda bath has helped me with hives once. Also Aveeno is an amazing product (Oatmeal).
    Comfrey and Calendula in olive oil, cooled and chamomile tea bags.
    Oh, I do hope you find relief. This sounds beyond discomfort.

    Thanks Lea. I appreciate the support. Hugs, Psych

  3. leafless Says:

    No. You are not a monster; you are a wonderful human being, in and out. My prayers are with you. You WILL recover; have faith!

    Thank you leafless, for your thoughts and prayers. Blessings to you. P.</strong>

  4. cordieb Says:

    Ditto Leafless’ comment. You will recover. In the meantime, you might want to try some benedryl. My prayers are with you.

    Luv, C.

    Thanks for the prayers and support Cordie. Hugs to you, Psych.

  5. vanessaleighsblog Says:

    I am sending you a gentle hug my friend. Ditto to what leafless and cordie b said: no monsters here…….. glad you can come where you know you have some additional support. I hope you are getting some relief my friend. I wonder if aloe, real or gel, would help? Especially, putting the gel in the fridge so it stays cool on your skin…..

    Menthol helps the best, and heavy doses of antihistamine rx’d by my doctor- i simply cannot stand it- thx for the support V

  6. avavacreads Says:

    Sweet blog. I never know what I am going to come across next. I think you should do more posting as you have some pretty intelligent stuff to say.

    Well welcome to my blog, avavacreads. I will try to post more, I have so many interests its hard to find time for them all. I hope you will visit again.

Leave a Reply

