A Comforting Ancient Story

My dear friend SanityFound sent me this ancient story to comfort and fortify me about my upcoming visit to my dying uncle. It did indeed comfort me, and it resonated with truth. I hope it helps some other reader here:

In ancient times it was believed that when someone gets an illness, someone who doesn’t die suddenly, it is God giving those that passed on a chance to be with those who visit the the ones soon to pass.  In ancient times those who loved the one who was ill would visit them, staying a while at their bedside with their eyes closed, just breathing and feeling. They said it comforted them feeling those gone already surrounding their loved one.

 God brings the angels who know the one soon passing so that they do not fear, and to give comfort to those visiting.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “A Comforting Ancient Story”

  1. viv66 Says:

    This would explain something interesting in my family. When I was about 16 my grandfather was dying; I didn’t go up but my mum did, though she was at home when he did die. Apparently he kept telling staff at the hospital that he wanted The Man to go away because he wasn’t ready. He got a bit agitated about it, and it was more than a week or ten days before he did pass. It seems there was someone present on the ward no one else could see, and he wasn’t ready to see either. He did pass quite peacefully as far a I know.
    It also explains why many people who would normally be expected to be scared are anything but in their final hours or days. When we sat with my stepfather in law a year ago, there was a very real sense of presence around us.

  2. vanessaleighsblog Says:

    What a beautiful story, and so true I believe. The person passing on needs to be accompanied by the angels already gone to have a peaceful journey……. God bless you, my friend.

  3. Ali Says:

    What a beautiful story.. This story would be so comforting for people diagnosed with an illness to read…

    Yes…thanks for visiting 🙂

  4. leafless Says:

    Never underestimate the wisdom of the ancient.

    I wish your uncle eternal peace. God bless.

    Thank you so much for your kind words leafless.

  5. San Says:

    Hope its going ok huns, hang in there and I’m sending you a gazillion billion hugs and love!

    Thanks honey, so painful yet so beautiful, will blog more later about all this. Hope your trip is going
    well. love, Psych

  6. cordieb Says:

    I believe this to be true. I do believe I’ve seen it. . .

    PLL, CordieB.

Leave a Reply

