Baby V

(12 week sonogram found on youtube- NOT OUR BABY!)

I cannot even begin to describe what an experience it was to see the baby on the sonogram. I stood next to my son-in-law, my daughter of course on the examining table, holding her husband’s hand, as we watched in awe. That was no flat, lifeless screen as shown in the photo on my previous post. It was like an in utero video. At twelve weeks  he was moving around, very active, and even sucking his thumb! There we were, three adults, dumbstruck.  “Oh wow!” was pretty much the extent of the conversation from all three of us while the tech did her thing. My daughter’s “oh how cute!!!!!” periodically punctuated the conversation. She, as we all did, really melted when we saw the thumb sucking. That and our repeated question “is it a boy or a girl????”   The tech kept demurring that she couldn’t be certain at twelve weeks, but finally, having found the penis, she announced “Its a boy!”

We all exclaimed in joy! My daughter was no longer carrying an “it” but a male baby. From the moment I heard it, I no longer felt merely the excitement of the pregnancy. Now he had an identity.  I felt love for him . For that tiny little guy so active inside his mom. For  Baby V, already named before his mom even got pregnant.

At twelve weeks, this baby was no future unknown. This baby was now.

And I feel so very honored that they invited me to participate in this intimate, joyous stage of their journey.  I love all three of them with all my heart.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Baby V”

  1. Ali Says:

    Thanks mom 🙂 Yes, it was quite a thrill. Is it just me or is our baby much more developed than the video you posted? You were such a proud grandma… Asking the Ultra Sound tech if our baby was ahead of other babies his age because of how much he was moving and how active he was 🙂 Love you mom, and I love how excited you are…

  2. oorvi Says:

    Thanks for the lovely post. It was informative in a very warm and happy way.
    Congratulations too:) to both you and Ali.

    (PS: I found the way to your blog from Viv’s blogroll.)

    Wags,
    Oorvi

    Well thanks Oorvi! And thanks for stopping by 🙂 Come again.

Leave a Reply

