Make New Friends But…

 

 

 

 

“Make new friends but keep the old. One is silver and the other is gold.”  

I’m finding I don’t agree with that old saying.  Some of my old friends have disappointed me terribly in regard to my health issues. No support at all.  Not even polite questions about how I’m doing.  If I mention I’ve been having a hard time, they respond as if I mention the weather has really been getting to me. Yet my blog friends are here for me all the time, express genuine concern, and check in with me to see if I’m OK when I’ve been quiet for a while. 

So for me, new friends are the gold ones. Thank you, each and every one of you.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Make New Friends But…”

  1. viv66 Says:

    I’m very sorry to hear you’re having a hard time right now. I have picked up that you have quite serious health worries and you bear it very bravely.
    regarding the saying, I have a poem that’s in a book of love poems my husband bought me years ago. I can’t remember who it’s by though:
    New love is silver,
    Wait for the west,
    Old love is gold love:
    Old love is best.
    Sometimes what we thought was love is not love at all but something similar but not as powerful.
    I’m always getting it wrong!

    Thanks Viv.

  2. SanityFound Says:

    You are true gold in both mine and many others lives, I know that as fact and for me it is the purest. Each day that passes I treasure our friendship and am honoured in knowing someone like you exists in this world.

    Hang in there and always remember that sometimes it is better to know someones true worth so as to prevent worse hurt later on. Let the fakes fall and the diamonds remain… always

    Thank you San. That means so much to me, as you do. God bless you.

    Hugs

  3. vanessaleighsblog Says:

    No matter what, I think silver and gold are both precious metals, and am grateful to say that I have both in my life, in the form of some old, and some new friends.

    I am so sorry to hear that you are not getting the support that you need. What we are able to offer you, we will gladly do. And, remember, I am closer than we thought! Sending big hugs!

    Thanks Vanessa 🙂

  4. cordieb Says:

    Hugs. . . dear friend. If you ever need to talk, I’m only an email away.

    You know whether silver or gold, both are precious and serve their own purpose. In life, I’ve found that the ones we are closest to will sometimes let us down, but we still love them, and we should always forgive them. And then, there are those times that we don’t ask for what we need; thinking it should evident . . . but sometimes people are so into their own little worlds that it is not evident.

    Hoping all will brighten up for you soon. . . I can see, it’s been one of those days, indeed. The thing about life is that it often gives us just what we need, perhaps not in the fashion or form that we want, but in this case, life has given you many friends here in blog land. And, I thank you for being so very appreciative of the love of your new found family! Embrace both the silver and gold. . . they each have their own unique purpose in your life.

    Love Ya kindred sis. . . Blessings . . .

    Thank you so, so much for this, CordieB…you are one certainly one of the blessings I’ve found here on-line. Love, Psych

Leave a Reply

