Lupus vs Fibromyalgia Symptoms?

You know, from what I’ve read, there is much similarity in symptoms of lupus and fibro flares.  I’ve been diagnosed with both, so I find it confusing to know which is which when I’m flaring. My doctor, quite honestly and to his integrity, I might add, also finds it to be confusing.

Would you mind  identifying your diagnosis and symptoms? I will then compile them and make a front page, unifying post out of your comments. Then you, me, and everyone else who suffers from these diseases can benefit from your input.

Thank you.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Lupus vs Fibromyalgia Symptoms?”

  1. The Basics of Fibromyalgia | Fibromyalgia Treatment Says:

    […] Lupus vs Fibromyalgia Symptoms? « Psychscribe […]

  2. vanessaleighsblog Says:

    Psych: My partner has Chronic Fatigue and Fibromyalgia; her symptoms are pretty much daily, to one degree of severity or another. Headaches, severe joint pain and stiffness, restless legs, memory problems, fogginess in her head, bloating in her stomach, depression, sleeplessness. Change of seasons seem to flare up her Fibro the most; as well as long trips and lack of sleep.

  3. lwayswright Says:

    I have fibro as well. And, the symptoms are so much the same I often can’t tell the difference. I have joint pain, fatigue, depression at times, but I think the lupus part happens with the skin/sun issues, the migraines, the mouth ulcers…more systemic types of things. I also think infections are part of the lupus more then the fibro. And my blood tests are often weird as well. I don’t always have a positive ANA…which doesn’t necessarily mean I feel fine when that happens. So, that may be fibro related I don’t know. I now have hypertension which my doctor says often accompanys Lupus. Does that make it as clear as mud?

  4. psychscribe Says:

    vanessa: reading your description of your partner’s symptoms gave me such empathy for you as the person who loves her and lives with her. I thought how hard it must be…and then I thought of my husband and appreciated him all the more. Thank you.

    lwayswright: clear as mud is a perfect description of these sucko diseases 😦

  5. lwayswright Says:

    I agree….muddy and sucko

  6. Judy Says:

    I know I have fibromyalgia, but I have other symptoms as well that aren’t supposed to be consistent with fibromyalgia. I get what looks like a sunburn on my face which feels warm to the touch. Even my lips feel warm, but I don’t have a fever. Sometimes I get so tired I can’t eat or speak and the urge to lie down is overwhelming. I feel nauseated even though I don’t have the flu. My eyes are often puffy, especially when I wake up. Sometimes I get a fever – maybe once a year or so – but don’t have the flu. Last year after a day at Disneyland, I had a 102 degree fever for 2 days. I’ve had a couple of bladder infections but no kidney problems.

  7. psychscribe Says:

    Judy, I’m so sorry you get all these nasty symptoms. Any time you feel like complaining, c’mon over and I”m here for you. Warmly, Psychscribe

Leave a Reply

