Mental Health Day: True Confession

social_living-dead

 

 

I’m taking one today. I mean, everyone else gets them. Why shouldn’t I? Even shrinks need mental health days once in a while. I need to relax and not HAVE to get in my car and go anywhere, be anywhere. No pressure…Mmmm…..

So lets see….I think I will dust today since I have an allergy to the stuff and its a real pain to walk around choking all the time….and do more Christmas shopping ONLINE (I don’t do malls anymore)..and finalize my choice of photos from the wedding for my “parent album”…oh…and i guess it would be a good idea to search again for my very expensive, lost wedding rings, I know they’re in this house someplace…and i need to get started on the jewelry I’m making for Christmas gifts….and call my mother which is never, ever less than a one hour conversation (that’s another whole post  in itself)…and I have several, repeat SEVERAL baskets of ironing that I’ve been avoiding like the bubonic plague…and for that matter there’s probably at least the same amount of  wash to be done…

Ok, so this is not what I’d advise a client to do on a mental health day. I would suggest to a client that she do something fun, relaxing, no chores allowed! But then again, for some people, getting chores done on a day when they would be going to work  is good for their mental health because all that stuff is no longer waiting for them…hovering.stalking them…

I guess I should call this my housework health day.

Tell us the truth. What do YOU do on your mental health days?

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Mental Health Day: True Confession”

  1. lupusranting Says:

    Thank God for mental health days! I usually sleep in really late and just hang around the house. If inspired, I’ll paint, or wander around on the web, or watch television, or cook. For the most part, it’s all about solitude and sleep! 🙂

  2. Amber Says:

    Mental health days… hmmmm Well I have been doing alot of designing. Having lunch with a good girlfriend is always good!!!! Some kind of pampering…

    Sometimes I just like to be alone, read a book and look at the lake. Depends on what kind of health my mental state is in!!!! 😀

  3. SanityFound Says:

    Sometimes cleaning the house is therapeutic in the symbology that it gives a person while doing it… clearing house and clearing mind 🙂

    I have these days every day in all honesty, through my blog and through writing a soul post every day… it really does help

  4. psychscribe Says:

    Hi ISF, I like that…”soul post”…i really need to be doing that…i agree about clearing house and clearing the mind being therapeutic.

  5. psychscribe Says:

    Yeah…creativity, solitude and sleep sound pretty awesome to me…

  6. psychscribe Says:

    Lupus Ranting: Yeah….my problem is my mental health day has turned into 3 weeks 😦

  7. psychscribe Says:

    Amber, yes…alone, reading a book and looking at a lake….sounds divine.

Leave a Reply

