Staying Present- A Life Lesson

Copyright Jupiter Images 2008

“Look not back in anger nor ahead in fear, but think of now with awareness.” Author Unknown 

I chose this quote for my high school yearbook. I have no idea how it surfaced through the years to my conscious memory, but wow!  That 18 year old girl must have had some precognition that the quoted lesson  would be one I so needed to eventually learn (and teach my future clients).

 And learning it I am. Even more aware of the beauty of nature than I’ve been all my life (if thats posssible),seeing it, smelling it, feeling it on my skin,  melding with it, morphing with it, feeling it in every inch of my body and soul. Its a beautiful autumn here in the northeast…

How long are YOU able to stay in the present moment? Have you thought about that? Have you thought about the fact that when you are TRULY in the present moment you can’t worry or feel anxious because that’s about the future? Are you letting the simple joys of the present moment slip away into tomorrows that may never come?

What are your favorite ways of staying present? Staying in the present is a present you give to yourself.

4 Responses to “Staying Present- A Life Lesson”

  1. Amber Says:

    I stay in the present by really taking in each moment. Like a snapshot in my mind. I take note of how I am feeling, the weather, the sounds, the smells, the tastes if there are any. I look into the eyes of my loved ones and I see their smiles. That is how I personally do it.

  2. SanityFound Says:

    I frustrate people by staying in the present, I tend not to think or worry about the future. Sure I look after it, make plans etc but I very rarely actually turn into a stressball about it. My belief is what will be will be, do all you can and the rest is just meant to be.

    Each day I am grateful and thankful for what I have and those that love me, those in my life. I enjoy the little things and try to be me fully.

    I needed this post more than you could ever know, thanks huns! Hope you are well and you’ve kicked the flu on its butt!

  3. Stefanie Says:

    i can honestly say i agree with everything you said but the trick is actually getting the person you want to be with to feel the same way about such things and not having to feel like you have to change them. I dont think i should have to present these feelings to him if he already says he understands. He clearly doesnt if i have to shove it in his face.

  4. psychscribe Says:

    Welcome, Stefanie. Thanks for your comment, but here’s the thing…if you’re trying to get the person you’re with to think or feel a certain way, you’re not in the present moment. You’re in the future…anxious or worrying…

Leave a Reply

