Alpha, Beta & Omega Males

First let me preface this by saying that I am not one of those  people who thinks that individuals can be neatly categorized into labeled boxes. But behavioral tendencies are fun and interesting to think about.   

My previous posts on alpha males have received so much interest that I decided to look up more about the other males…the rest of the story.  Here’s what wikipedia has to say (hardly a definitive or professional guide, IMO, but a jumping off place for thought and discussion).

“In social animals, the alpha male is the individual in the community to whom the others follow and defer. Where one male and one female fulfill this role, they are referred to as the alpha pair. In some groups, the alpha males and females are overrepresented in the genetics of a population if they are the only ones who breed successfully.

Chimpanzees show deference to the alpha of the community by ritualised gestures such as bowing, allowing the alpha to walk first in a procession, or standing aside when the alpha challenges. Canines also show deference to the alpha pair in their pack, by allowing them to be the first to eat and, usually, the only pair to mate; wolves are a good example of this. The status of the alpha is generally achieved by means of superior physical prowess; however, in certain highly social species such as the bonobo and humans, a contender can use more indirect methods, such as political alliances, to oust the ruling alpha and take his place.

Beta and omega

In the power hierarchy of the human group, two other roles also are defined and named. First, the beta male, which is the contender, subservient to the alpha male, but only after testing. The betas act as second-in-command and can either be dethroned alpha males or future alphas if they persist in challenging the regnant alpha male. The term omega (ω) is an antonym often used in a deprecating or self-deprecating manner to refer to member at the bottom of the social hierarchy. The omega is subservient to all members.”

So…are you a beta or omega male? Do you typically befriend or fall in love with one? What’s that like for you?

11 Responses to “Alpha, Beta & Omega Males”

  1. Mike on the road Says:

    I relate so much to the wolf but have not learned enough about them to know why. I have read one fiction book about wolves and I found it very interesting. The idea that nature mimics humans or is it the other way around? What I do believe is that nature and wild life are symbolic of the deeper meaning of life and a sort of spiritual journey one takes to go deeper and deeper into nature to understand everything better.

  2. Bill Howdle Says:

    This is very interesting and thought provoking. In my younger years I was definitely the alpha male but have change, maybe mellowed over the years.
    I am not sure where that puts me now, omega, I suppose. With most things in life I am content to just go with the flow of routine daily life just letting life unfold before me. Unless something is important to me, I will often bow to the wishes of others if in fact it seems important to them. If though it is important to me the alpha streak still finds its way out and quickly.
    Maybe I am the old retired wolf.
    I am interested you have read my blog, what do you think I am.
    Bill

  3. SanityFound Says:

    I really enjoyed this one, fun and informative lol! Chimps yipeee still looking for mine, had to cast the others to one side *sniff*

  4. feistysideoffifty Says:

    I think I’m married to an alpha male and, although we’ve had our challenges, we’re about to celebrate our thirty-fourth wedding anniversary.

    What a trip–exhilarating, frustrating and strangely wonderful!

  5. psychscribe Says:

    Congrats, feisty! No, they’re not easy, but SOO worth the ride, yes? 😉

  6. psychscribe Says:

    Bill- I definitely see you as an alpha male…a leader to the new world beyond…the others keep a respectful distance because they fear where you’re going even as you lead the way..

  7. psychscribe Says:

    Mike, I love what you wrote: “What I do believe is that nature and wild life are symbolic of the deeper meaning of life and a sort of spiritual journey one takes to go deeper and deeper into nature to understand everything better.” I too feel very close to nature, and have always found such deep meaning there..thanks for your post.

    San: maybe you’re looking in the wrong species? 🙂

  8. don Says:

    fuck me i’am a fucking omega i just need to kill my piece of shit-self

  9. psychscribe Says:

    Don if you are feeling actively suicidal (have a plan) you need to call 911 or get to the nearest hospital emergency room. Or you can call The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline – a 24-hour, toll-free suicide prevention service available to anyone in suicidal crisis. If you need help, please dial 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Your call is free and confidential.

    I don’t know who or where you are, but there is always hope. If you don’t like who you are you can change through therapy. You can become the man you’d like to be. Someone gave you the message , probably a long time ago, that you were worthless and you believed it. I have just said a prayer for you because God is hope. Believe, my friend. Believe. He is real and He can help you. Why don’t you give him a try? What have you got to lose? Ask him to open your heart to him! In the name of Jesus I pray you get what you need from this post. I ask my readers to pray for Don too.

  10. pwr2cr8 Says:

    Men, we would be well served to be a combination of all three attributes Alpha, Beta, Omega. And women it would serve you well to be present to these distinctions.

  11. psychscribe Says:

    Interesting comment, pwr2cr8. Thx.

Leave a Reply

