Sometimes a Cigar is Just a Cigar

Ok…so…how embarrassing is this? For two weeks now I’ve been blaming my aches, pains, weakness and malaise on my “lupus flare”. I mean, it has felt the same as it always does, plus factor in the wedding and attendant stresses and of course its a flare, right?

Wrong. I’ve been noticing I have sniffles and a sore throat..then it occurred to me that back in the old days, 4 years ago, before I knew I had lupus, I used to get flu like symptoms every fall and spring. I mean I always felt  REALLY sick. Only now, ever since I was diagnosed with lupus, I think that every single ache and pain I ever get is a lupus thing.

Well, the rest of the story is obvious from my title. Today I dimly remembered how I used to feel, pre-lupus, so I  tried my favorite allergy medication and it worked like a charm. I feel like a new woman! Hear me roar, everyone!

So, this supports Freud’s famous line…sometimes flu like symptoms are just…flu like symptoms…

7 Responses to “Sometimes a Cigar is Just a Cigar”

  1. Amber Says:

    Don’t you just hate it when you get to that point where you are totally second guessing yourself? I mean you drive yourself nuts with.. well is this my disease? Is this a cold? Is this some terrible disaster befalling me? Its enough to drive anyone to drink.. and I would cept that makes me feel sick now too ! Damn it!

    Anyway, breathe…

  2. Valerie Says:

    I’ve enjoyed browsing through your blog.

    We have a few things in common, I see. I am a psychotherapist, too. My 20 year old daughter was diagnosed with lupus 4 years ago. Lupus nephritis. We almost lost her a couple of times. She is doing well right now, but lupus is such a sneaky disease, so who knows when it can sneak in, unannounced? She is going through an emotionally turbulent time right now – thanks, in part, I think from not being able to go through the typical teenage rebellion stage when she was first diagnosed, so she’s going through it now. I’m praying that she makes it through and we are able to become close once again.

    I hope we can get to know each other better.

    God bless!

  3. psychscribe Says:

    Amber – yes! Exactly! I pray that you are feeling better soon.

    Valerie, Welcome! We certainly do have a lot in common. I’m so, so sorry your daughter has to go through this. And I am so glad its ME and not MY daughter. I cannot even begin to imagine your fear. But I think you already know that God will take it from you if you let Him. I’m reading a great book “Life Disrupted” by Laurie Edwards [Getting Real About Chronic Illness in your Twenties and Thirties] which you or your daughter might get lot out of.
    I can also relate to your feeling of loss as she goes through her…growing stage! My girl, approaching 30, has grown a lot in the last year as she’s approached her marriage…which means more separation from me…necessary growth but so painful… I very much look forward to getting to know you as well. God bless you too.

  4. SanityFound Says:

    Hopes you feel better soon hun yurgh hates that flu! Sending you hugs!!!

  5. Valerie Says:

    Thanks for your comments on my blogs, and for the book recommendation! I will definitely look into it. God has been my rock through it all.

  6. Mike on the road Says:

    I couldn’t agree more with God as rock in your life. For me it is The Blessed Virgin Mary. I really enjoyed your work and found many ideas that inspired me.
    Kindest,
    Michael a fellow Cafe Crem – er!!!

  7. psychscribe Says:

    Well hi Mike! Thx for visiting! How have you been? I guess I’ll have to stop by your blog and find out! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

