American Idol – Rock on Cook!!!

OK, I was so emotionally affected by David Cook’s victory it amazes me – I felt as proud of him as any mother, and so very touched by his humble response. I was rooting for him all season, but as the other David walked away with the judges’ accolades week after week I thought Cook had no chance. Especially since viewers usually seem to vote just like the judges call it. (Isn’t it odd that Cowell apologized for his disresepect before the winner was announced…himmm..)

Why do older people like myself so enjoy a talent show of kids 28 years old  or younger? I think because it  is so thrilling and satisfying and inspiring to watch kids follow their dreams, the perserverence, the courage, and, of course, the talent. But for me, mostly, its watching them follow their dreams.

When I was that age I had no dreams. How sad is that? But, late bloomer that I was, I developed dreams of education and a profession in my forties and damn if I didn’t just do it.  When the zillions of  balloons fell from the ceiling at my graduation ceremony for my masters, I honestly felt like “Ladies and Gentlemen, THIS is American Idol!”

Congratulations David Cook!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “American Idol – Rock on Cook!!!”

  1. Miki Says:

    Bonjour Coeur de Rose!
    I haven’t been around for a long time, caught in big events of my professional and private life, but I wanted now to say hello! I hope you are fine!
    Hugs, from Kevin too (we are both as much in love in each other as always!)

  2. amberfireinus Says:

    I have been following American Idol for the past 3 years. Being a singer myself I really enjoy hearing the kids do their thing. Especially when they have talent and are unique.

    I have to admit to not agreeing with you on the winner of American Idol this year. Week after week David Archuleta was unique and original and chose better songs. There is the quality there of a budding Elton John or a Barry Manilow in that kid. David Cook does not have that amount of music skill or talent.

    Being someone who is a musician – I know the difference. You can have a great voice, and not have the real talent. I think this is another disappointing year for Idol. Some of the most talented musicians haven’t won in the past 3 years that I have been watching.

    Melinda Doolittle didn’t win simply because she didn’t have the look. Not because she couldn’t sing. It is supposed to be a singing contest you know….

    And that guy with the Grey hair that won before that? He was a MESS!! No way did he deserve to win. His career is showing that too.

    Im glad you enjoy the show. I do too, though I have to say that I would like to murder the producers for choosing stuff like BEEGEE night to throw at the kids. The BEEGEE’s couldn’t even sing the BEEGEE’s. What the hell are they thinking I wonder? Sheesh. Then people get mad when the kids don’t sound good.

Leave a Reply

