My Sister’s Accident

I’m realizing how totally self absorbed I’ve been since my stroke and lupus diagnosis… not to mention last week in the hospital.   I’ve become accustomed to my family worrying about me, doting on me, and frankly I’ve been eating it up like a starving little girl… For too long it was the other way around. My family role was caretaker and honestly once I got sick and had to accept some emotional care taking I’ve thought, “Well, this part isn’t so bad!”

My only sister has become my dearest friend, support and nurturer thru all this. She’s four years younger,  but she has somehow morphed into my big sister and I’ve thought of her as indestructible. Also, for the first time since we were children, we live close enough to be in and out of each others “rooms”…. around the corner from each other….so nice….

Last night she was in a car accident. The car was totaled. Emergency people said they thought she could’ve died when they arrived and saw the vehicle.  She escaped with a fractured wrist in one hand and a burn on her other hand. Even in the ER she was protecting me…wouldn’t let her husband call me because she was afraid I’d get too upset!

This afternoon I spent the day with her. She was so upbeat and grateful to be alive. It was difficult for her to allow me to do simple things like make us our tea or fetch anything she needed.  

She was so upbeat and grateful to be alive that I found myself mirroring her, and not saying what I really wanted to: I love you Sis with all my heart, and I sooooo appreciate you, and I can’t even imagine how I could handle it if things had turned out differently.  I need you in my life, not just for nurturing me but just for you : your goofy sense of humor, your intelligence, our shared childhood history,  your eccentricity, your love of God, your creativity, your kindness and generosity, the way we laugh together!

Anyway, Pinhead, this is what I really wanted to say today as we both walked around acting like nothing serious had happened…  but it did. Your life was spared and I felt (not just knew) how very important you are to me in my heart and soul.

 

Tags:

3 Responses to “My Sister’s Accident”

  1. leafless Says:

    I’m glad your sister is OK.

  2. SanityFound Says:

    Glad your sister is ok 😀

  3. Amber Says:

    Appreciate the people in your life…. don’t take them for granted. That is the lesson of the day.

Leave a Reply

