What is Your Earliest Memory?

Can you think way far back..to your earliest memory? Is it a happy one, a sad one?  Who was there and what was happening? In what way did this memory imprint your brain, and affect the course of your life? 

 Whatever memory comes up for you was most certainly a defining moment…

7 Responses to “What is Your Earliest Memory?”

  1. searchingwithin Says:

    My earliest, or at least I think it is my earliest, is climbing out of my crib to sit with my dad while he was shaving in the adjoining bathroom. Nothing special, don’t remember anything that was said, and I really find it quite odd that this moment would stay in my mind to this day. Has it changed or impacted my life in anyway. I doubt it!

  2. amberfireinus Says:

    My earliest memory was when I was maybe 3 or not quite yet 3. My younger brother who was 11 months younger than I was, decided that the fish in the fish tank were toys. So somehow he crawled in and went for a swim. He was fished out eventually, but the sight of him in there… was really funny when I look back on that. Of course I had no clue he was in danger. Just the memory of him swimming away……

    How has this affected my life? Well, I know that my brother has A. no fear, and B. a really good sense of humor.

  3. SanityFound Says:

    My first memory is stealing a sip of my father’s coffee one morning only to immediately spit it out, it wasn’t just coffee it was a vodka coffee – my mother has confirmed catching me, I was 2 and already then I loved coffee but this one tasted different, remember it like was yesterday.

    Colouring my world? I have always kept that memory close as to remember where I don’t want to go, my father died 3 years later, he was an alcoholic.

  4. Robert Says:

    Good question and not so good results on my side: I cannot really distinguish my memories of the first years of my life from the images I have seen so many times on the photographs, and the stories my parents and my grandparents have told me… So, it gets a bit scary on this point: how can I tell if a memory is a memory. How is it different from a non-memory, from just images acquired in some other ways…? Hm…
    Anyway, the earliest I can remember and am completely certain it actually is a memory is me being about 4 years old observing my mother how she was changing clothes. And staring in her bare breasts, with sort of nostalgic remembering this used to be something nice for me. Upon seeing my look, my mather, in a joking manner, asked whether I wanted to be breastfed again. And I, innocently and very eagerly nodded: “Yes, yes….” My mother just laughed and put her bra on.
    And I remember some sadness creeping in my being, loneliness, embarrasement… The end of a part of childhood, the most inocent one.
    Now ladies you can jump in with the theories about men’s obsession with breast… ;-))

  5. leafless Says:

    My earliest memory? This is a tough one. My head hurts.

  6. wpm1955 Says:

    I think this is a very interesting question, and the responses left here are even more interesting.

    My family seemed to think I was quite strange for claiming to have memories from the ages of two and three. But I know they are memories because they are memories of something happening, not just a place. Here I can see that other people have memories from similar ages.

    My first memory is getting off a ship in Japan when we had gone to live there for six months. I also remember climbing a hill and my father pretending not to be able to climb, and telling me I had to “help” him by pushing him. I remember the room I stayed in with my mother in some complex that had an eating area in the middle where we took our meals, and sat at a very low table with cushions.

    I also remember the house we lived in when I was three, what the floor plan of the house was, where the toys in my room were kept. I remember playing with my best friend from next door, blowing bubbles together and laughing. I remember when my mother walked in the door from the hospital, holding my new baby brother in her arms.

    I think the reason most people don’t remember before the age of two is that their language skills haven’t yet developed. I think our memories start when we start to have a rudimentary language communication ability. I do have a cousin (with a genius IQ) who claims to remember one memory from the age of six months, when he said he was lying in the back of his parents car, looking up at the tall buildings in New York City (would have been in the 1940’s).

    All the early memories my daughter recounts to me seem to come from the ages of 5-6. I think part of how far back we remember might depend upon how often we thought about those things as a child. My parents died when I was four, and so, perhaps I spent a lot more time at young ages thinking about and reinforcing the memories I had than most children would.

    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

  7. anangeli Says:

    I had a friend at work (age probably 40 when I met him)with a high IQ a design engineer, that related to me remembering when he was coming down the birth canal. There was an expression in his face that I knew he was telling the truth. He had always the most provocative comments for small things that we take for granted. I regret I never probed him on this subject.

Leave a Reply

