The Memory Haves & the Memory Have Nots

I just read one of those great  articles that I wish I could say I wrote.  I didn’t. It was written by David Brooks and published in the New York Times. Very funny.  It is a real treat for boomers and anyone else starting to have memory issues. Here is an excerpt:

“Society is now riven between the memory haves and the memory have-nots. On the one side are these colossal Proustian memory bullies who get 1,800 pages of recollection out of a mere cookie-bite. They traipse around broadcasting their conspicuous displays of recall as if quoting Auden were the Hummer of conversational one-upmanship. On the other side are those of us suffering the normal effects of time, living in the hippocampically challenged community that is one step away from leaving the stove on all day.

This divide produces moments of social combat. Some vaguely familiar person will come up to you in the supermarket. “Stan, it’s so nice to see you!” The smug memory dropper can smell your nominal aphasia and is going to keep first-naming you until you are crushed into submission. “

You can find the full article at:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/04/11/opinion/11brooks.html?_r=1&th&emc=th&oref=slogin

2 Responses to “The Memory Haves & the Memory Have Nots”

  1. brightfeather Says:

    WOW! Thanks so much for the link. I’ve had this happen to me too and now I have the perfect comeback … LOL :D)))

  2. wpm1955 Says:

    At 53, I don’t worry too much anymore about these situations in this fascinating article. If someone came up to me and remembered me, but I didn’t know who they were, I’d just ask them, “You look so familiar, but please remind me where we know each other from?”

    Madame Monet

Leave a Reply

