Shrink’s View from the Couch

Well I told you all that I’m trying hypnotherapy for my lupus, in order to hopefully kill the psychological dragons that are lying in wait to attack my body…I’ve been in therapy before (as any good therapist should) but this is really really hard. Because my therapist is all about releasing the trapped emotions in the body which are causing the disease (needing to be expressed). Makes sense, doesn’t it? Only thing is, I hate it! You can’t get away from your emotions when you’re focused on where they are in your body the whole entire session, and I know this as a shrink, I always tell my clients “you have to feel in order to heal” but I sure don’t like doing it myself!  Avoiding painful emotional trauma  is something I learned in childhood, of course, a wonderful coping mechanism at the time, so I’m really not liking to have to go there now….on the other hand, if it can save my life I can’t thing of a better motivator! So I truly feel forced to go deeper than I ever have before…and I don’t like feeling forced to do anything.

Signed with painful honesty, Psychscribe

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Shrink’s View from the Couch”

  1. giannakali Says:

    bless you psychscribe,
    I too am confronting crap I’ve never dealt with before in intense fashion with a Zurich trained Jungian Analyst. It’s a whole different experience than any other therapy I’ve had before and it HURTS! And it seems everything is coming to a head right now and refusing to be ignored.

    I empathize with how difficult facing that old ancient pain in our soul is.

    You are brave and you can do this.

  2. psychscribe Says:

    Thanks for the support, giannakali…it sounds like YOU are brave and can do this as well. None of us really gets to avoid the life lessions, do we?

  3. giannakali Says:

    those of us who ignore life’s lessons live a diminished life. I think we are on the right track!

  4. feistysideoffifty Says:

    Your bravery and honesty are inspiring!

    I’m sure your clients have greatly benefitted from working with a therapist who is so open about her own struggles. I admire you and your strength of spirit.

  5. amberfireinus Says:

    I think I shared that I am seeing a Pain Psychologist as well. It is a very frustrating experience. He has made a few good points, but I wonder if I will benefit truly from the experience. Im hoping that my dragons will be released, but as I search my soul on my blog I wonder how many I have left…

    Good luck sweetheart…. sending you hugs

Leave a Reply

