Online Friendships

As a novice to the blogosphere, I have been surprised to find real friendships developing with people I have never met in person, and probably never will.  I worry about them. I confide in them.  I feel connected…. I’m wondering what your experience of online friendships has been?

Tags:

20 Responses to “Online Friendships”

  1. innovatel Says:

    I’d like to create a “online friendship” … it’s not a good idea. It’s different from “real friendship” but why don’t live this experience? 🙂

  2. coollikeme Says:

    Friends can come from anywhere. Why not the Internet. I have friends over the Internet. Some I have met, you just have to be aware at all times. I know 3 sets of different people who met online and have gotten married. Just like real life always be aware. with out being paranoid. Its a whole new world.

  3. amberfireinus Says:

    I guess I am kind of unique. Due to my illness, spending so much time in the hospital over the past 10 years, I have made many many online friendships. I met, and married the man of my dreams.

    For years, I ran an online chat room. I had people from all over the world come in and chat to me. Tell me about their lives, their loves, their stories, their tradgedies and their dramas. I had the opportunity to meet many of these people in real life.

    Online friendships are a true reflection of real life relationships. The same rules apply. The person has to show themselves to be continually worthy of your time and energy. Otherwise why bother? There needs to be motivation there, common interest etc.

    I have kept a few of these people in my real life that I met on the internet all of those years ago. They have been through the best and the worst with me, and I with them.

    People always ask questions about my friendship with my friend Dave in Portland. Why my husband doesnt object. I have been friends with Dave for YEARS online. Dave is like a brother to me. We couldnt be further apart as far as being attractive to each other as in sexually, but we are the very very best of friends. He stepped up to the plate when my husband and I really needed him asking nothing in return.

    Online relationships and friendships are real. People lie to themselves when they say that cheating online isnt really cheating….

    I continue to meet exceptional individuals online. I find that this medium makes the world a smaller place and allows me to connect with souls all over the world who will guide me, teach me, and learn from me… and that is worth more than alot of superficial relationships you find day to day.

  4. innovatel Says:

    @amberfireinus -> you were very lucky 🙂 In the futhure I hope to meet the “woman of my life” but I’d like in “this” life and not in “not-real” 🙂 The life is impossible to write, so I can only live the life 🙂

  5. amberfireinus Says:

    innovatel, I met my husband online. We may have met there. Meeting online is only a starting point. Making it real from there is up to the couple. We chose to take it into our real lives. We have been happily married for 10 years. As far as couples go, I would rate us amongst the most well adjusted and still happy together that I personally know.

  6. khamisi Says:

    Hello, I hope you are feeling better today. The world I live in is very small and like attracts like so my oddities do not go down too well. I find that online it is easier to meet people with the same interests and values as yourself simply because you have access to more people across all walks of life than you would in a small town.

  7. innovatel Says:

    @amberfireinus -> Oh yes, it’s the true! I don’t ignore the “online friendships” … but I think it’s different from a real. Some years ago, I went to forum meeting. It was a very beautiful experience 🙂

  8. Miki Says:

    The persons on the internet are the sames as in the real world, they just sometimes behave differently, because it is more free here, and there is not a chance to get really punished if one behaves badly. But the persons who behave well in normal life behave well on the net too…
    I met Kevin through the internet, he sent me a congratulations mail to my painter website. I knew from the very first mail that I felt closed to this person. It was his choice of words, the underlying tone, I sensed so much tenderness in that guy, so much kindness, intelligence, freedom… I was right!

    But it is necessary to have really good sensors for people on the internet, because the words are the only thing we have to “judge” them, we miss the so important body language.

    I have some online friendships now, an it is simply wonderful, i deeply enjoy it. But I know too that one day I will meet them too in the real world, I will need it. The process is very simple and always the same:
    first the written word
    then you need to see the photo
    then you need to hear the voice
    then you need to see a film of them
    and then you need to see them in person!

    I wish you and your readers a beautiful week end!

  9. innovatel Says:

    @Miki -> In a ideal world, peoples are the same in the real and Internet. The true can be different when some people hide yourself behind a monitor. I don’t do that, it’s not in my life-style!

    Your steps (written,photo,voice,film,person) it’s a good idea. I do a big smile when I read this!

    I’d like to do friendship and know people in USA and. Why? One day, I’d like to go in USA if I change my life 🙂
    (
    full post – if not a problem
    http://www.innoland.it/2008/01/22/dream-i-m-thinking-to-change-my-life/
    )

    Bye and good night (In Italy is 23.00 and I’m KO … so I’m going to sleep)

    OT: your blog pictures are fantastic, I visit your blog all day 🙂

  10. Miki Says:

    @ Innovatel
    Buon giorno i molto grazzie, Ragazzo!
    I didn’t know you were Italian… nice to meet here somebody living in Europa! It is sometimes so frustrating to communicate with people when they are sleeping, it’s somehow like the story of the Sun and the Moon…
    Thanks for the compliments about my art…
    I know what you mean about the ideal world… but you know, these people who hide behind the monitor, are quite easy to detect if you use your brain and your people knowledge… and it is quite difficult to construct a consistent identity, if you know what I mean. It’s hard work to lie for a long time without being caught, don’t you think so?
    I would say, just enjoy your new friends online, don’t be scared, don’t mistrust too much but be attentive and let life and fate do the rest!

  11. stacibo Says:

    Psychescribe, I appreciate that you were one of the first people who reached out to connect with me via the blogesphere. I am very much enjoying connecting with new people here and at the same time, I am a big believer in mutual appreciation. Like developing any relationship, I’ve learned that true intimacy takes time to grow. There’s no rush but paying attention with an open heart helps. Hope you are feeling better.

  12. innovatel Says:

    @Miki ->
    Is it a problem for you if I’m Italian? I hope it’s not 🙂

    The time zone can be a problem, but with Internet the human can superate it without big problem, or not? The day and the night is very different in the life of the people but they are not a “big wall” beetween “people1” and “people2” 🙂

    Oh yes, it’s the true! The “false” people can not live forever behind a monitor 🙂

    Ok, I’m waiting to know new online-friends 🙂

  13. Miki Says:

    Of course, it’s not a problem that you are Italian, I was just very surprised. As I said nice to meet here somebody from Europe!
    Buona notte!

  14. psychscribe Says:

    I think its wonderful that you’re Italian! Did I tell you that I lived in Bologna for six years a long time ago? I am of Italian descent and Italy is my FAVORITE place!!!!!!!!!!

  15. innovatel Says:

    @psychscribe -> Oh yes! You added a comment on my blog! I answered you 😉

    @Miki -> I like read and “meet” people from america 🙂

  16. Miki Says:

    I didn’t know that, Psych! Nice to know that you have lived in Europe too!
    I have been myself in Italy sometimes, and it was alway fantastic!
    And the food… MY favourite food!

  17. innovatel Says:

    @Miki -> The italian food is the best IMHO … I love that 🙂 Where did you go on Italy? 🙂

  18. Duane Says:

    Real friendships can blossom from the internet.

  19. psychscribe Says:

    Hi Duane, I do agree with you. It amazes me, never to meet someone face to face, yet feel like you truly know each other. Thanks for visiting.

  20. innovatel Says:

    @Duane -> Your opinion is more or less the mine. If you think Internet is only a mode to break the ice between two (or more) peoples … why not?

    After the Miki’s comment (February 2, 2008 at 8:41 am) I’d like to meet some friends … the miki’s idea is not bad 😛 Oh yes, friends all over the world 🙂

    bye 🙂

Leave a Reply

