Psychscribe Quote # 14

“I am convinced that it is not the fear of death, of our lives ending, that haunts our sleep so much as the fear…that as far as the world is concerned, we might as well never have lived.”
HAROLD KUSHNER

2 Responses to “Psychscribe Quote # 14”

  1. amberfireinus Says:

    What a true statement. What I fear most about dying is that no one will even notice that I have gone. I will not have lived a life that mattered to anyone other than myself thus leaving no legacy behind.

    When I first got sick I wondered..who would be at my funeral if I died? I have to say, even now, there would be no more than a handful of people who would attend. It makes me sad, but alas it is the truth. I will never be the one who has a church packed full of people who loved and admired the person that I was on earth.

    I am not trying to look for sympathy here. Part of this is due to the lifestyle choices that I have made, lack of family, and lack of any kind of roots. It does make me sad on occassion.

    I guess its all in God’s plan. Im ok with that.

  2. psychscribe Says:

    Amberfireinus: I wonder who of us has NOT thought about who would show up for our funeral! You might be surprised though, when you look down from your heavenly cloud, at the amazing amount of people whose lives you have touched more than you can know. True confession here: when my kids threw us the anniversary surprise party, i actually thought: so HERE’s who would be at my funeral!!!

Leave a Reply

