Never Trust Anyone Past 30

In the hippie days, that slogan was everywhere: “Never trust anyone past 30.”  It was a dividing line…anyone older than 30 was considered “old” and not to be trusted because it was assumed they had a vastly different value system.  People who once touted that slogan became truly depressed when their 30th birthday hit. And I do mean hit.

I’m wondering if people will tell me where the dividing line is now, in your opinion? What age would be the beginning of  “old” and how old are you?  Boomers, young people (whatever age that is!) are all encouraged to reply.

 I really am curious, so thank you in advance for your replies.

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Never Trust Anyone Past 30”

  1. fabat40 Says:

    I know that phrase and have recently turned it around to: “Never trust anyone UNDER 30.” I’m 42 and work with many who are in their late 20’s. Sometimes I forget about the age difference between us , feeling younger myself–but other times, whether it be their work ethic, or their weekend exploits that they can’t quite fully remember because they were intoxicated…well, I just don’t get it. In all fairness I’d call myself an “old soul” — I never was young and hip and always thought that starting your night out at 9:30 was ludicrous, even when I was 20. Now at 42 I feel like I’ve finally come into my own. Now I consider myself young and hip. I feel I’m the age I was always meant to be.

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    Interesting. I’m 28 and in a lot of ways I would have to agree with fabat40 and say don’t trust anyone UNDER 30! As far as what age I consider old, I’m not entirely sure. Mid to late 60s would have to be my opinon. Although just the other day I was talking to a friend about various actors and Tim Daly’s name was mentioned and I said “Yeah he’s pretty hot – for an old guy” and he’s 51.

  3. amberfireinus Says:

    Its so interesting this question. I actually had my age crisis at 26! I came to realise… Im no longer a girl. I was a woman. No more time for silliness, time to get serious.

    That was my line. In my mind that was the time that I needed to put behind any childishness. The world around me would no longer accept it.

    When I hit 30 it was almost a relief. I was way more comfortable in my own skin and grew more happy within myself with each passing year.

  4. psychscribe Says:

    Interesting responses, everyone.

    fabat40- good for you!!!!! you sound like you like yourself and really have it together.

    bluesuit12 – thank you for responding. i think according to what you say, the “old age” has been pushed further back- a good thing, I think..

    amberfireinus:i definitely had an identity crisis at 30, going thru what you describe here. i have to dig up a poem i wrote at that time, i still rmember it and i keep everything i write, and i will post it here

  5. undercanopy Says:

    I actually believe in the opposite. I like to date slightly older people. They are more trustworthy 🙂

  6. Miki Says:

    Now I will be VERY trivial, sorry! But at least very honest…
    But instantaneously, as I read your question, I thought:
    60!
    Thinking of men above all… Then I checked if I can allow myseld to say 60, and decided:
    Yes, i can, I am 52, almost 53, 8 years to go, and til then I will surely have changed my opinion and consider 60 as very young!

  7. psychscribe Says:

    undercanopy: may I ask how old you are? andhow old are the slightly older people you date?

    Miki: Yes, it is ideed all relative. I used to think 60 was old. Now its become 70 to me…

  8. born2rant Says:

    Well yes I grew up hearing ” don’t trust anyone over thirty” too. I don’t think it was a particularly intelligent slogan but youth definitely “came of age” culturally in the sixties. Young people challenged the status quo and had lots to say and lots to contribute culturally.
    Now our whole culture has become far far more obsessed with youth and one almost has to apologise for looking old . This time round it’s because everyone is obsessed with looking young and sexy it has nothing to do with outlook. People under thirty ( not ALL) tend to be rather superficial and worry about their appearance and are interested in celibrities who have no other talent but looking pretty/handsome.
    As an old hippie I would say trust everyone until you can ascertain what is pouring out of their mouths!
    Most of the open-minded creative intellectual people I know are between the ages of 40 and 72.
    Younger people are often far less enlightened and closed off from politics, literature, and creative arts.
    But I say trust everyone brave enough to speak their truth and also able to see the other side of the coin.
    Love and peace
    Born2rant

    I agree. Trust everyone brave enough to speak their truth….that says its all…

  9. cordieb Says:

    Never trust anyone over the age of two, because our ego starts really maturing around that age. Actually, real trust begins in trusting ourselves. You either will trust that you will be ok or you will not be ok. You either trust that no matter what this person does or does not do, you will still survive or you will not survive. You have to trust that God has your back. Once you develop this kind of trust, it makes easier to trust people in matters of the heart; because we realize that life goes on.

  10. shahbaz Says:

    i think that the trust is the first step which leads u to go n trust who u want to know better n this is really amazing to hear that trust do not over thirty but everyone has thier own thinking .

  11. TriangularGuy Says:

    I’m 60. I think the line of trust is between 14 and 15. By 15, people are self-aware enough to be pretty good liars when its called for. And before 15, we have a biochemical response to their childish looks that automatically makes up want to protect them.

Leave a Reply

