Do You Remember Your Love Story?

I’m sure you do. And if you think about  it now…how you met….when exactly you knew you were in love…it feels really good, doesn’t it? How often do you remind your partner of this lovely beginning? The details, the music, the time of year, that special secret place….? Way too many couples let all this fade into history. Not a good idea at all. Because with the fading of the memories comes the fading of the romance that brought you together. Romance is a major nutrient for any relationship. We need it to keep the relationship alive, well and healthy.  

I don’t care if you’ve been together for two years or forty years.   Take the time, periodically, to light a candle, sit on the couch together, play your old songs, and remind each other of your love story. Every little detail. You’ll be delighted to discover what you each remember.  And then the most magical thing will happen. For a while, a very nice while, you will turn back time and be those same two people who saw only the good in each other. And felt all that chemistry.  And then…..who knows what might happen on that couch

Would you be willing to tell us about your love story?

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Do You Remember Your Love Story?”

  1. Miss Tish Says:

    I was in a study abroad program in England and met a guy from my school that was also in the program. We hit it off almost immediately after walking off the plane. There was a group of about 10 of us who went to Tenerife in the Canary Islands for spring break. We all had a blast for the week and spent the last few hours of our trip hanging out by a nearby huge rock overlooking the beach. We had stopped at the bar next door to bring some Margaritas on the rock for our farewell toast.

    We sat on the rock, embracing the moment, and suddenly someone realized that we were running late for our departure. Everyone took off like lightening and ran back to the hotel. Well, almost everyone… The guy I was dating stayed back at the rock to collect all the Margarita glasses and returned them to the restaurant.

    This may sound like small potatoes to everyone else. But for me, this was a defining moment in our relationship because I saw his authenticity. I saw a guy who cared about other people and had respect for the little things in life. Now 7 years later… we are about to be married. (He took me back to England, where we met, to propose but that’s another life defining moment)

  2. psychscribe Says:

    Thank you Miss Tish. This is actually quite lovely and refreshing, that you noticed and fell in love with the genuine qualities in this guy.

  3. amberfireinus Says:

    You are going to laugh when I tell you. My husband and I met on the internet!

    While I was in the hospital, I had alot of time on my hands. So I would chat on my laptop. I had my own chat room. David came in one day, and to be honest for him, it was love at first type! It was like he saw my nickname and that was it. There was no one else in the room or the world. (I know this because he kept our chats and I reread them years later).

    Of course he didnt know how sick I was. He pursued me like you wouldnt believe. Not aggressively. Sweetly. Softly. With strength.

    It was my mother who said. Hmmm hey, this guy is really interesting. If he says he’s going to call you at x time, he calls you then on the dot if not before. He has never not been as good as his word. Someone like that is a keeper. Maybe you should give him a chance.

    So, I thought… ok Ill give him a chance. I laid it all out on the line for him. I told him about my illness and all that was included. Me being in the hospital etc. In 3 days I was going to have brain surgery and probably die from it. I didnt have time or the energy for anyone who wasnt the real deal or who wanted to play games.

    He was so amazing. Right in that moment. It was alot to digest Im sure. He didnt even have to think about it though. He said to me right then… I will do everything in my power to make you happy. And if that is only for a short time, then Ill at least have that time with you. He committed to me lock, stock and barrel never even had met me in person!

    That night, after our conversation ended. My agnostic alpha male fell to his knees and begged God for my life.

    We met in real life about 3 months later. It was the first time I could get out of the hospital, and I didnt want our first meeting to be me hooked up to machines and tubes. He would have been there sooner, but as always held off and respected my wishes.

    I want to give you a picture of what this was like. I had been in the hospital for 7 months by then. I was 385 lbs because of the hormones and drug therapies, plus non excersize and full on being in a bed for 7 months. I was completely bald, scars all over my body. I was white skinned from being so sick for so long, and I had big black circles under my eyes.

    He got off the plane…. marched up to me, looked into my eyes and said “You are the most beautiful woman I have ever seen.” He truly meant it.

    He has cherished me every single day of my life since then. I couldnt ask for a better husband, lover and best friend.

    How could a woman not fall in love with someone like that?

  4. psychscribe Says:

    Hi amberfireinus, i would never laugh at your story. I think it is wonderfully romantic. Blessings to you and that marvelous man of yours. I think you should write a book abou this!

  5. Denise Says:

    in my opinion, being friends first is the most important thing along with having lots of things in common with one another; sports, arts, etc.

  6. Miss Tish Says:

    Amberfireinus,
    That is the most beautiful story I have ever heard. I am a hopeless romantic myself and hearing your story goes into my box of evidence for the cynics that fairytales do exist.

Leave a Reply

