What is the Best Thing That Happened to You this Year?

I will be thinking of this as I drive to work this morning, and I hope you will give it some thought as well….It occurs to me, as I write this, that we therapists are always harping on how “you make your life happen” and “you are the agent of your own change” and thoughts like that..And they are good ones, to be sure.  But sometimes, well, stuff happens as we all know, that we did not cause…bad stuff…today however I’m looking for the best thing that happened, something wonderful that the universe (or God) threw at you….

Tags: , , , ,

13 Responses to “What is the Best Thing That Happened to You this Year?”

  1. undercanopy Says:

    The best thing that has happened to me this year is a sudden personal transformation I experienced mid-year — I’m a much better person as a result.

  2. psychscribe Says:

    Wow…would you care to share more about that? Its exactly the kind of thing this blog is all about…but if not, that’s ok too of course.

  3. Denise Says:

    great question…for years I’ve been wanting to get a book published and this year is one step in the right direction. I found a publisher and signed a contract and hopefully my poetry chapbook will be out by Christmas 2008. I also got motivated to do more creative arts and am learning how to use arts for mental health recovery. It works!

  4. psychscribe Says:

    Congratulations Denise! That is waaay cool. All my life I’ve dreamed of getting a book published. Please do keep me posted.

  5. Miki Says:

    My divorce…
    My husband and me were in a hopeless situation (much love but total incompatibility for the everyday life… well, this is my view of the situation, he didn’t see it like that at all).. I couldn’t see the end, years and years, I felt like in a jail, with no hope to get out one day. The reason was that I loved him like a brother (and still do) … one doesn’t leave a brother… and couldn’t hurt him. I lived most of the time in deep depression. I had managed to leave the house some years ago, to change the country, but the soul and heart connection was still very strong and he considered us as married for the rest of our lives.
    To meet Kevin gave me the courage to fight for my freedom… it was hard, very painful, long, but in Spring 2007 it was so far… it was like a REBIRTH.

  6. Denise Says:

    Thanks! I have a lot of great inspirational examples in my life!

  7. preciousturtle Says:

    This year I re-united with my Biological mom and her family. I hadn’t believed that was posible.

  8. psychscribe Says:

    Miki, good for you! I went through something very similar years ago, in another life…including the depression….I consider my marriage to Alph a rebirth as well…I do not believe I could have evolved into the woman I am now with my first husband.
    Preciousturtle, how exciting to hear that you re-united with your bio mom and her family!!! At least I hope it was wonderful? Would you care to say more, or is it on your blog and I missed it?

  9. preciousturtle Says:

    It is on my blog. It was wonderful. But there are a lot of ups and downs that we have to work through, since there are problems between me and Ma’s other kids. But it was still wonderful to meet everyone.

  10. psychscribe Says:

    preciousturtle i have tried to find your blog but i’m having trouble finding it- is it here on wordpress?

  11. preciousturtle Says:

    It is on wordpress. as preciousturtle. weird

  12. stacibo Says:

    I love this. The best thing was having the support and the grace to re-commit to myself, my path, my writing…what a blessing.

  13. Paul Says:

    Read about it here, its all about Positive thinking

    http://thinkitseeit.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

