Perfectly perfect is perfectly impossible

Are you a perfectionist? If so, you may be at risk for mental distress or mental disorder. Today’s New York Times has an ineresting article by Benedict Carey  called “Unhappy? Self Critical? Maybe You’re Just a Perfectionist”. 

That makes sense to me.   No one can be perfectly perfect so to strive for the impossible is of course setting yourself up for at the very least failure.

I tried to link directly to this article but couldn’t make it happen this morning even tho usually that’s no problem.  Sorry, but hey…I’m not perfect!  (If you google it, its well worth reading).

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Perfectly perfect is perfectly impossible”

  1. Bill Howdle Says:

    I am so sorry it has been a while since my last comment. I will be returning to do so more properly shortly. I ask you for a huge favor. I have received a most touching and heart breaking comment on my site. From a 14 year old who’s father is dying of brain cancer. I was so touched I published her short comment as a post. I am asking please for prayers but also short comments be left on my site. I will be emailing her and inviting her to return to what I hope will be a page of love and support for her. I do thank you so much

  2. Miki Says:

    Great Title!
    I am not a perfectionist at all, adn very happy about it! I met a lot of perfectionists in my life, most of them were men (is it only my experience or does it correspond to the statistics?) and I always found them quite boring become they never came forwards to new things! And quite self-destructive too…

Leave a Reply

