You have one hour to live…

….and you can make one…just one phone call….the most important phone call of your rapidly ending life.  Who will you call, and what will you say that you never said until now?

Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “You have one hour to live…”

  1. exactscience Says:

    If I am living where I live now?

    I’d go to the beach. I’d write a letter to my parents, my sister. One to my friends and one to my counsellor.

    I’d write the three details about my funeral that I’d to happen.

    I’d call my unrequited love, ask them not to say a thing and just to listen. I’d then turn the phone off and listen to the waves breaking.

    Check out: Two Days in The Valley. A recurring theme is having a minute to decide the rest of your life, the character enjoys seeing what people will think of…

  2. Bill Howdle Says:

    Wow, this is one tough and very thought provoking question. A question you would think I would be prepared for and have an to answer to. I thank you for posing this question, it really makes me think. I hope you don’t mind I have added you to my blog roll. Also, I hope you don’t mind if I “borrow” your idea here for a posting of my own
    Bill

  3. psychscribe Says:

    Thanks exactscience, I will definitely check it Two Days in The Valley – I’m assuming its a blog here? Unrequited love…that is a tough one…I mean…what can you really say, if you think about it…

    Bill, I’m glad you’re enjoying (?) this question…another favorite saying of mine from somewhere is “when the student is ready, the lesson appears”…actually this applies to my own life right now…not always easy to absorbe the lesson, is it? By all means do “borrow” my idea..I don’t think its particularly original anyway, as exactscience notices 🙂
    Thank you for adding me to your blog roll.
    Blessings to both of you,
    Psychscribe

  4. exactscience Says:

    Two Days in the Valley is a 1996 movie.

    There is a lot to say. All I would want to say is that for the past two years I have loved them, but it was enough to know they were happy. With an hour to live I wouldn’t need to deal with any fallout, but there likely wouldn’t be any.

    The most important thing though was the waves, they tip the crazy out of me and I want to die at peace.

  5. psychscribe Says:

    Oh…thanks! What you say is lovely….and also the waves.

  6. Bill Howdle Says:

    I think you are so right, when the student is ready the lesson appears. I have also heard it that when the student is ready the teacher appears. Here in the blog world I have met many wonderful teachers with great lessons to teach, yourself included.
    I know I have much to learn and the struggle is readying myself to absorb and learn. Wouldn’t it be so nice if it was just as simple as reading one book and bang there, I have it all.

  7. Vera Lucia Says:

    I would call my daughter ( supposing she is not by my side) and tell her I love her more than anything in this or any world and please do not make the same mistakes with her daughter I made with her.
    If I was far from my husband I would call him and tell him I had always loved him since I saw him for the first time when I was 18 years old and I never told him enough about my love.
    If they both were by my side, I woudn’t call anybody. They are all who matter to me.

  8. psychscribe Says:

    Ah yes…. “I never told him enough about my love”…

  9. wpm1955 Says:

    I try to keep all of my business with people finished EVERY DAY. I have just heard too many stories about people dying and people being sorry that important things were left unsaid, or a fight or argument marred the last time you saw that person.

    Every day when I go to work, I kiss my husband and daughter goodbye. I never forget, even when my husband tells me to hurry up because we don’t have time. I would rather miss the bus to work than not tell them goodbye properly. I really try to live by the adage, “Live every day as if it were your last, because one day, it surely will be.”

    I now have had several people die over the years, and I did not have to feel bad at all, because I always kept my business finished with them–I spend time with them while they were alive, and made a point always to say the important things.

    That being said, I would call my daughter (even over my husband) because she still has her life to live, and I would say everything possible for her to go ahead and have a good life without me (she is only 14).

    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

  10. psychscribe Says:

    Thank you Madame Monet. What a lovely post!

  11. confusionreigns Says:

    Thought-provoking… Can I have a conference call please? 😉

    Right now, there is only one person I know whom I would want to call – I see her behind my eyes when I close them, she lives in my head and warms my soul. Though she’s hundreds of miles away, I know that she thinks of me and it makes me smile.

    I would talk with her for the whole hour. I’d be happy to listen in silence, simply knowing she was there, but that is exactly what I would do.

  12. gem Says:

    I am a single parent. I would surely make a call to my daughter. She does not carry her own cellphone yet. I would surely say to her that I love her so much for the nth time.

    I will tell her the truth about her past. She has not yet asked me about this. She’s still young – perhaps young to think about this things that why she had not yet popped up the question.

  13. psychscribe Says:

    Gem: Yes, the truth about her past would be a very important gift to give her in that phone call.

  14. Bruce Corson Says:

    I published a piece originally entitled “One Hour To Live” several years ago, and it got a lot of press at the time. Also pops up as “Flight Fright” sometimes. While it’s true that I’ll do anything for one more reader, some of you may find my thought process in that one hour interesting. I actually wrote it while it was happening, and edited just a bit after. Here is one place it is still available:
    http://www.travelassist.com/mag/a52.html

    I like your website. Thanks for listening.

  15. psychscribe Says:

    Nice piece Bruce. Your dry humor is wonderful. That’s exactly the way I think whenever I take a flight!

  16. Anonymous Says:

    if i had one hour to lilve i would call my all family who are not bised me

Leave a Reply

