WHY do “crimes of passion” have less legal consequences?????

amberfireinus‘s sympathetic response to my most recent post about the NY therapist murder prompted me to write a post on an issue which has always infuriated me, rather than commenting on her comment as we bloggers do…

 In most of these United States, for some reason a “crime of passion” gets less legal consequences than one which is premeditated. The legal system drops the heinous act of taking someone’s life down a few degrees .So apparently if someone goes ballistic with jealous rage its more ok…understandable legally …. than someone who commits cold blooded, pre-meditated murder.  And I’m sorry but that is usually a male who commits the crime of passion, so I can’t help but wonder about the sympathy of the predominately male legal system which makes these laws…(Did you know that police officers have one of the highest rates of perpetrating domestic violence?)

A “crime of passion”  usually translates into someone walking in on their loved one in bed with somebody else and killing her and the lover. I don’t know, call me nuts, but people are still dead, aren’t they? And ragers usually have had rage problems long before they kill in “passion”. Did anyone ever hear of …uh…dare I say therapy….or   anger management????

Tags: ,

One Response to “WHY do “crimes of passion” have less legal consequences?????”

  1. amberfireinus Says:

    You go girl!!! I was merely pointing out the legal meaning of second degree murder rather than first degree. Not that I agree with it. I agree with you whole heartedly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

